Marty Hunt MP

Member for Nicklin

  • Marty Hunt is the newly elected Member for Nicklin and has been the Liberal National Party Member for Nicklin in the Queensland Legislative Assembly since 2017.
  • For many years Marty has worked with young people and their families.
  • Prior to his election, he was a sergeant in the Queensland Police Service for 30 years, joining the Sunshine Coast Child Protection and Investigation Unit in 1998. He was assigned as the Branch Manager to the Nambour Police-Citizens Youth Club for the past 17 years.
  • Marty’s focus is on bringing the community together to help it thrive and is honoured to bet the new Patron for Spiral Inc. and looks forward to supporting them in the coming years.

Management Committee

Peter Callaghan

Ad Dip Community Services (Disability), Dip Business (Front Line Management), Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors

Committee President – appointed October 2018

  • Peter has broad experience in the not-for-profit sector. Over his 40 years, he has been involved in Senior Leadership and Board roles in many Community Service organisations spanning youth, disability, aged care, housing, education, training, employment and Industry Services sectors in Queensland.
  • Until July 2011, Peter was founder and CEO of Community Employment Options Inc and, after a merge, co-founder and Executive Manager, Employment and Training Services of a multi-site/program ‘community business’ known as the Community Solutions Inc. Over the 20-year development, Peter oversaw operations across 18 sites in Queensland, 300 staff and programs including DES, JSA, PPP, PHaMS, Youth Connections, Skilling Queenslanders for Work delivered to nearly 6000 clients across the State.
  • Peter now works as a Partner with the consulting group – DCA Advisory Services. The group, predominately, support Community Service organisations to better respond to the changing environment.
  • Peter is passionate about utilising his experiences, skills and knowledge to assist organisations develop their capacity to grow sustainably and achieve their full potential. Central to his passion are people in our Regional, Rural and Remote Communities of Queensland.

Bevan Gallagher

Treasurer – originally appointed as a Member in 1998

  • Bevan has comprehensive experience in the education, finance, disability services and not-for-profit sectors. He was a Certified Practising Accountant (CPA) for 30 years.
  • He has served as Treasurer or a Committee Member for most of the years since his association began with Spiral in 1998. Bevan and his wife, Maureen, have been awarded Spiral life membership.
  • Bevan became involved with Spiral when his son, Kieran, became a client. Kieran has multiple physical and intellectual disabilities.
  • In 1997, Bevan retired from full-time work after holding senior management, financial accounting, internal auditing and company secretary roles for a large financial institution.
  • With his wife, in 1996 he co-founded Qualtime Association Inc, a service provider similar to Spiral, in the northern suburbs of Brisbane.
  • Bevan was a part-time lecturer in financial accounting and auditing at the Queensland University of Technology from 1977 to 1984.

Heather Carney

Committee Member –  appointed in 2011

  • Heather has extensive management and leadership experience in the disability services, not-for-profit and education sectors.
  • In 2011 Heather was appointed as Spiral’s Manager and became a member of Spiral’s Management Committee.

Jean Prentis

Committee Member –  appointed in 2004

  • Jean has comprehensive experience in not-for-profit organisations, and has been a member of the Spiral Management Committee since 2004.
  • A founding member of Sunshine Coast Networks (which has changed its name to Equity Works), Jean continued as a serving member for 13 years.
  • For 11 years, until 2002,  Jean was a member of the Nambour Special School P&C.
  • After growing up in Nambour, Jean worked in the accounting sector. Following her retirement, Jean continued to volunteer in the community.

Eva-Marie Seeto

DipPsych, MSocSc(Health), DSocSc, DipDisability, JP
Committee Member – appointed 2009

  • Eva-Marie has extensive governance and leadership experience in health and disability services, and has held management positions in the public and private sectors.
  • Currently, Eva-Marie is the Director of Community Engagement at the University of the Sunshine Coast. She has served as a student affairs practitioner and higher education development leader since 2005.
  • Eva-Marie is a review board member for the Review of Disability Studies international journal, University of Hawaii, a board member and the Oceania Regional Coordinator for the International Association of Student Affairs and Services, and a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.
  • Her research interests are in health promotion and student mental health, with her doctorate awarded by the University of Queensland.
  • Eva-Marie is a former Queensland President of Relationships Australia, and was a foundation management committee member of the Australian Health Informatics Association (Queensland).

Christine Paterson 

Committee Member – appointed in 2017

Fiona Robbins 

Committee Member – appointed in 2018